Cold Weather in Mississippi

No matter how old I get, when cold weather hits Central Mississippi I am always excited. Today, we are supposed to get a snow/sleet mix. After getting up around my usual time, I went to the back door to see if any had fallen—nope. After getting the dogs in from their morning constitutionals, I sit down to start my day. All of a sudden, I hear the pinging of tiny wintry pellets hitting my roof. I get up and go to the back door, it hear and see a mix of ice and snow pouring down.

So I think, “Hey! Winter is finally here!” For the next twenty minutes, I am like a giddy little girl making sure to tell everyone in the house that it’s snowing outside. Now I know it may not mean much to those that live in the north, but those of us who live in this part of Mississippi, it’s a rare sight. So I got to my bedroom, grab my phone so that I can take pics of event. “Why?” you may ask? Hmm…I don’t know. I guess it’s the little kid in me, but I’ve always loved snow ever since I was that little kid; so it’s a bit of a treat when we get some down here.

So to all of us down here that love it, enjoy today, because they are few and far between.

Leave a Reply

